We are going where?!

20120102-232103.jpg

Every year it’s a tradition at Camp Cho-Yeh to take our summer counselors on a ski trip before school starts up again, but this year, we have decided to make this trip count for something more in the bigger scheme of things.

Cho-Yeh has partnered with Heart-to-Honduras in order to take 21 staff members to Santa Elena, Honduras to build two homes for homeless families and host a day camp for children in poverty within the area from January 8 – 14th.

Normally, I skip out on these trips because our retreat season would have already started up, so naturally,this year I did not think any different. However, at the last moment a spot happened to open up and coincidently, so did my schedule.

At first, I hesitated, thinking… “To go on this trip is more of a want than a need…,” and,”I can’t afford the $1,100 cost on my own.” But, The more I sought God, the more I was encouraged that, “God is working in me, giving me the desire and power to do what pleases Him.” Phil. 2:13. If this was true, then my next step was one of faith. I committed to the trip, not knowing where the money would come from. Who knows… Maybe it’s in your wallet!

Like many, it is difficult for me to ask for financial support, but the more I read, the more my pride is revealed. The Word tells us:

“Teach those who are rich in this world not to be proud and not to trust in their money, which is so unreliable. Their trust should be in God, who richly gives us all we need for our enjoyment. Tell them to use their money to do good. They should be rich in good works and generous to those in need, always being ready to share with others. By doing this they will be storing up their treasure as a good foundation for the future so that they may experience true life. (1 Timothy 6:17-19 NLT)

Please prayerfully consider sponsoring me both financially and through a commitment to prayer as I join Cho-Yeh’s staff on our first international mission trip adventure.

You can donate online at: www.cho-yeh.org/donate

  1. Create an account (1 minute)
  2. Enter your debit/credit card information (2 minutes, depending on where you put your glasses)
  3. Designate your One-Time-Donation as: “Other – Cory in Honduras” (1 minute)

Cost = less than 5 minutes of your time and a few bucks. Kingdom Impact = priceless.

Camp Cho-Yeh is a 501c3 Non-profit charity, and donations made to Cho-Yeh on my behalf are tax deductible. Donations above the $1,100 will be applied toward the Honduras trip fund and will be used to enhance the effectiveness of the trip.

I will be the the photographer for our trip, and will keep my blog updated with all the best photos and stories. Internet access will most likely not be available, so I will post my journals the following week. Please stay tuned!

Thank you for your support!
– Cory

Please join me in prayer as we prepare and travel:

Pray that God’s Spirit would prepare and equip our team for the work in store for us.

“For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” (Ephesians 2:10 NLT)

“God uses [Scripture] to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.” (2 Timothy 3:17 NLT)

Leave a Reply

